Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Dubai 70.3 Race Experience
Quote | Reply
Any of you guys who have done Dubai 70.3 able to share race experiences. I have been eyeing this event for several years, but unfortunately was unable to do triathlon for several years and just got back into things. With this being a flat course from what I remember reading, it may be a good one to do. I did my first half IM in 4 years at Montreal Demi Esprit and kind of survived fine (swim was sub par given all my swim training, bike was awesome, run was steady).

I potentially have a place to stay and I have some biz opps for my company potentially in Dubai and regionally and I can then add onto the vacation trip. So I just have to buy an Airfare which is hovering around $1000 CAD...almost cheaper than doing 70.3 Tremblant (cost of hotels locally). Also a good location to get away from Canadian winter.

Some questions:

1. Although I want no wetsuit, I assume wetsuits in Feb
  2. Race day logistics etc....how complicated around traffic etc
  3. If my place to stay is far, is it worth getting a hotel nearby for race night
  4. Swim is it wave or rolling
  5. I assume air temp is near perfect for racing in Feb
  6. How hard is it to ride in the area in the days leading up. I was in Abu Dhabi a few months ago, and even though roads were awesome, not sure where I would go riding (you don't see many bikes around)...but I suppose I can just ride anywhere traffic be damned?
  7. Can you practice swimming anywhere nearby or are all the beaches blocked off.
  8. I read that run is on a purpose built path

thanks

Dev
Quote Reply
Re: Dubai 70.3 Race Experience [devashish_paul] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Go do it, Dev! It’s a good race; great venue, swag, pre-and -post parties, etc. Drafters on bike but supposedly they are going to work harder on that this year. Locals will chime in with more insight, but my experience: