Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Drinking during half marathon
Quote | Reply
I normally hydrate well during the week leading to the race and I drink 20oz fluids 2-3 hours before, and then 8oz fluids just 15 mins before..

I held a hand held 8oz fluid which I sipped on a half marathon last year and that worked out well, and I did the same a few months ago on another half marathon but I didn't feel like I needed to drink at all. In fact, most of the fluid was still there till mile 11.

The HM I'm doing tmr I want to get a PR and do my best so I'm cutting out all the unnecessaries. Decided to not wear a visor and now I'm considering no hand held electrolyte drink. 8oz weights roughly 0.5lb which could cost me 30 seconds I think.

I read pros don't usually drink in these events but they run it in about 1hr. My run time is going to be around 1:30.. Verdict, bring the drink or dont?

P.S., i Know I can drink the water provided but I'm not good at drinking out of a cup :P
Quote Reply
Re: Drinking during half marathon [125mph] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Do what ever works best for you. I have been trialing a few things lately leading up to a half marathon that I am doing, and have gone from using a 2 bottle fuel belt to getting rid of throughout all of my training runs, and have noticed a significant increase in speed. I personally don't think you will need a lot of water, maybe a sip every 5km to just wet the mouth and if it's warm to throw over the head/body. But remember, do what ever works best for you. If you feel like you need it, then use it, but if you don't forget about it all together.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Learn to drink out of a cup!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z-wn5IMmy5E

Dave Stark
dreamcatcher@astound.net
USAC & USAT level 2 certified coach
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Carry nothing. Just grab water at the stations along the way.

Here's how: