Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Does anyone know which Cervelo this is, and if it's worth purchasing?
Quote | Reply
Hi slowtwitch,

Someone local who isn't really into triathlons is selling this bike. He doesn't know much about it, including which model it is. I think it might be an old p2? Anyway, he's asking $700. I'm new to triathlon, and my current bike is a road bike--a 2014 Cannondale Synapse for ladies--carbon with Shimano 105. I like it, but the point of the synapse is that the geometry is more upright and therefore it's more comfortable for beginners. So it's not a great bike for shredding up a race.

If this Cervelo is carbon, and a good price, it might be worth it for me to get it, and then I could use it for a few years and see if I'm committed enough to the sport to invest in something badass? What says the hivemind?

Formerly GiantNewb, but not such a newb anymore.
Last edited by: GiantNewb: Aug 24, 19 11:12
Quote Reply
Re: Does anyone know which Cervelo this is, and if it's worth purchasing? [GiantNewb] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Off the top of my head I believe that's a Soloist, also the frame is not carbon, but rather aluminum, fork is likely carbon. I could be wrong on the model, but not the frame material.
Last edited by: sgoehner: Aug 24, 19 11:15
Quote Reply
Re: Does anyone know which Cervelo this is, and if it's worth purchasing? [GiantNewb] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
That looks like a Cervelo Dual, which was their entry level try bike in the early 2000s.
Quote Reply
Re: Does anyone know which Cervelo this is, and if it's worth purchasing? [sgoehner] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
this is a Dual, proabably circa 2000-2001
Steerer is aluminum (hence the alloweance for 60mm of spacers under the stem)
http://www.bikesportmichigan.com/reviews/soloist.shtml

known issues were corrosion at/around the cable guides

Anne Barnes
ABBikefit, Ltd
FIST/SICI/FIST DOWN DEEP
X/Y Coordinator
abbikefit@gmail.com