Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Does U.S. based Ironman races coddle racers more than the rest?
Quote | Reply
As an American triathlete that has begun traveling international to 70.3 and 140.6 races, I noticed quite a difference with race logistics and support. After IM Greece 70.3 this past April, I sparked a lengthy conversation with an experienced Irish triathlete that also traveled and raced. What came from the conversation was that there was a lot more coddling and support with the IM races based in the U.S. versus everywhere else. I have been racing for 9 years and these are the biggest differences discussed...

• Pre-race: U.S. = serious bike support in transition morning of race; Elsewhere = good luck finding bike support in transition.
  • Pre-Race: U.S. = bike pumps galore provided by bike support to include an air pump generator; Elsewhere = borrow a pump from another triathlete.
  • T1/T2: U.S. = volunteers everywhere to help grab your bag as you run by or your stuff is already stationed by your bike. Volunteers slap sunscreen on you; Elsewhere = your stuff is in a bag, you must run and get it, you must re-stuff your bag (nothing in transition next to your bike), you re-hang it on your numbered hook & good luck if you see any volunteer in sight.
  • Bike Course: U.S. = Bike support roaming around to change your flats and fix mechanicals. Elsewhere = no bike support on course.

• As I am a novice to international racing, I am sure there is a lot more I am unaware of. I am curious what other triathletes from all over the world think and what other differences people have noticed.
    Last edited by: Trigirl357: Jun 15, 19 6:36
    Quote Reply
    Re: U.S. Ironman races coddle racers more than the rest of the world [Trigirl357] [ In reply to ]
    Quote | Reply
    My experience at IM Wales in 2016 contradicts all your points.
    Quote Reply