Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Do I need to get a fit BEFORE purchasing?
Quote | Reply
Hi all,

I have been asking around and have been told differently by different people; it seems everyone has their own opinion on the right way to get a fit. I am starting my search for a new (used) aero road bike, which I plan to compete with in triathlons, including clip on tri bars.

I have had some people tell me to just use the generic sizing charts to get a rough idea, purchase a bike, then get a fitting to that bike.

I have had other people tell me to get a professional fit done first, buy a bike within those specifications, then do a follow up fit afterwards.

I am not quite sure what to do. I only plan on spending $1,500 (I'm a college student). I would like to do it right though and end up on a bike I am comfortable and competitive on. Hoping this forum will have some answers for me. Thanks!
Drop here!
Last edited by: kenykj49: Dec 21, 19 18:22
Quote Reply
Re: Do I need to get a fit BEFORE purchasing? [kenykj49] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
You could ask the person who is going to do the bike fit for you. That way you might actually buy a bike that is within the infield and not just the ballpark using a baseball analogy.

This might actually make life easier for the bike fitter too.

Indoor Triathlete - I thought I was right, until I realized I was wrong.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Get the fit first. It eliminates the risk of getting a bike that doesn't fit and then trying to shoehorn yourself onto it, and you can get a more precise fit on a fit bike since it is easily and infinitely adjustable.

When you buy a bike, shops will often be willing to swap out the stem for one that fits you better (for example), whereas if you bring in the bike for a fit you'll end up buying a new stem.

ECMGN Therapy Silicon Valley:
Depression, Neurocognitive problems, Dementias (Testing and Evaluation), Trauma and PTSD, Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)