Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Disc on road bike???
Quote | Reply
I’ve come to the realization that I just don’t enjoy riding my TT bike. In fact, I despise it for training rides on crappy, pothole laden open roads with narrow shoulders, and tolerate it on closed courses in races. I’m honestly not even convinced it’s faster, since I spend so much time out of the aerobars (do to handling issues) and much more cautious descending on it than I am on my road bike.

Since I’m not a pro, and in theory do this for fun, I think I’m going to sell the TT bike and race on my aero road bike (S Works Venge Disc). Might add some clip-on aerobars for smooth flat stretches, but I feel best hammering in my drops. I still want to be fast though.

Would there be any advantage to racing with my Roval 321 Disc on the Venge, or should I just stick with the Rapide SLX set? I’ll likely never KQ, so I’m not truly looking to pick up every last second, but I’m solidly in the front of the middle of the pack, hoping to go sub-11 hrs at IMLP this summer and want to continue improving my times.
Quote Reply
Re: Disc on road bike??? [wintershade] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
What kind of handling issues are you having with your TT bike?
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
No doubt TT bike is faster . . . that's not a question.

Disc on a road bike? Sure, we did that all the time before TT bikes/aero bars were invented.

Now, go learn to ride a TT and get the best of both worlds.

David
* Ironman for Life! (Blog) * IM Everyday Hero Video * Daggett Shuler Law *
Disclaimer: I have personal and professional relationships with many athletes, vendors, and organizations in the triathlon world.
Quote Reply
Re: Disc on road bike??? [jimatbeyond] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I just don’t feel stable on it, especially at speeds in excess of 20mph or so which is below my race speed.