Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Diabetes and Triathlon
Quote | Reply
First, let me start off by saying this post is NOT about Team Diabetes.

I am an insulin dependent diabetic of 24 years. I have been competing in sprint distance tris for about 3 years. I am considering doing longer distance tris, but am concerned about keeping my blood sugar levels up for that long. I read a book called "The Diabetic Athlete" but it dod not give me much specific information.

Any diabetic triathletes out there with experience or who know where I can get some better information on nutrition (before/during /after) and insulin dosing?
Quote Reply
Re: Diabetes and Triathlon [tri_bri2] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
There are so many variables, unfortunately there really can't be any specific information that would necessarily work for you. I have had type 1 diabetes for 36 years and trained/raced at various durations over the last 20 years and I don't think the adaptations required have stayed constant for more than 6 months the entire time.

Really the only way to figure it out is experimentation in training. Gradually rachet up the duration and then intensity to match the event you are doing and see what happens. Fortunately tris are time trials which makes it easier to calculate the caloric requirements.

Although you always have to take at least a couple units of longer acting insulin just to ensure you can properly metabolize your food intake, insulin requirements can approach zero as you get into the 5-6 hour range and higher intensity [pre insulin, extreme exercise and caloric restriction was the only "treatment"].