Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Di2 - convince me
Quote | Reply
So, I just sold my tri bike that I had for the past four years, and it had SRAM Red shifting. The only fault I've had with shifting with cables is that over time they stretch a bit and need to be readjusted. Now that I'm looking at a new bike, I'm considering Ultegra Di2. I've been thinking of a Canyon Speedmax, but I will soon be able to get a decent discount on QR bikes.

What are the pros and cons related to Di2? Any basic 'Di2 for Dummies' guide out there, as I have zero experience with electronic shifting? I'd love to give E-Tap a go, but it seems that Ultegra Di2 is a bit cheaper.

Blog: http://262toboylstonstreet.blogspot.com/
https://twitter.com/NateThomasTri
Coaching: https://bybtricoaching.com/ - accepting athletes for 2023
Quote Reply
Re: Di2 - convince me [natethomas] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Every shift as easy as a mouse click. No need to ever shift hand position from your ultimate aero position. And it never, ever goes out of adjustment. I wouldn't have a TT/Tri bike without it.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I'd say if you need convincing, they maybe don't bother?
It is easier to shift gears when going through a corner or a 180 turn, cause you will have buttons on your bullhorns.... Other than that, bling?

I prefer di2 over etap. Personal preference. I like not having to worry about multiple batteries that have be charged often and off the bike. etap also shifts ever so slightly slower, but you'd probably never notice if you hadn't used di2 first.
Quote Reply
Re: Di2 - convince me [SBRcanuck] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Often??? The etap batteries last (obviously depending on use) for months at a time. I charge mine 2-3 times/year maybe with probably an average of 3-4 rides/week. And I charge before it’s even necessary so you could certainly get away with less.
Last edited by: DFW_Tri: Nov 13, 19 7:07
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply