Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Decent gym-program for triathlon? Your opinion is valued!
Quote | Reply
Hi all

I am currently getting ready for a 70.3 triathlon and I was wondering how to optimize my workout in the gym for biking, running and swimming.
I have researched that twice a week should be more than enough. I have been working out for several years and therefore know the technique of the exercises.

My goal is to improve strength for triathlon - as well as a little bit of chest, therefore dips every workout. I might cut that one out later.

I have been training regularly for past 5 years or so, im at 160kg deadlift for 5 reps, squat 110kg 5 reps and dips bw+35kg for 5 reps. I have never really been running much, but I have been biking regularly throughout my life, but nothing more than 20km on most days, it was back and forth to work and various activities.

I started running and biking two weeks ago;
Fastest run is so far 11.77km in 1 hour and 4 minutes (10km in 53 min) with average heart rate of 160. Though it was raining and i didnt care too much about keep my heart rate down. Now I run and will build my indurance the next couple of months.
Fastest biking is so far 63 km in 2 hours and 18 minutes, average speed 27.2 km/h, pace 02.12 min/km, and average heart rate at 140.

What do you think about this workout? My sources have been from the folowing websites:
https://scientifictriathlon.com/tts81/
http://danjohn.net/...minimalist-training/

Monday
Deadlift
Dips
Bulgarian split squat
Lat pull down / Pull up
Calf-raises (alternating seated/standing each week)
Hyperextensions

Thursday
Squat
Dips
Romanian deadlift
Tricep pushdown/extension
Lat pull down / pull up
Step ups

Let me know what you think, I have put this together from researching around the internet and put the exercises on the days and in the order that made sense to me without thinking too much about it.

Looking forward to hearing from you

Best regards