Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Days off
Quote | Reply
Do you think it is absolutely necessary to have a day off every week or do you think you can play it by feel or circumstance? Specifically referring to FOP athletes or those that recover quickly - do pro's take a day off every week? In the base period is this more feasible, considering training intensity is low?

Who doesn't plan a complete day off every week?
Quote Reply
Re: Days off [jaylew] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I take 2 off - ride 5, but then I only ride. No running/swimming.

Hey, got that Gramin Forerunner, absolutely the colloest toy ever!!

Now I race against the "training partner" during my weekly time trials. I set the distance and time and can see how far behind/ahead I am of my actual goal. Have not used it in altitude.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
do pro's take a day off every week? I'm not a pro (still trying..) but I find that having one scheduled "off" day (usually 30 min easy spin on the rollers) helps me keep things in order.
In the base period I could probably do my hardest day seven times a week - I feel good the day after and sometimes even want to do it again. However, this creates a small debt which will grow and you'll end up paying way into the season.
The idea behind a scheduled day, for me, is that you should not wait for your body to give you signs of tiredness and only then to have an easy day.
My 0.02.

Ricardo Wickert | Team Magnesium Pur - Germany | My sporadically updated blog: The Thin Grad Line | My team-issued TT bike: Trek Speed Concept 9

2015 Sponsors & Partners: Magnesium Pur | Ullmax | B&W Bike Cases | Ristorante La Dolce Vita | Trek Bikes via Bici-Sport Binder
Quote Reply
Re: Days off [wickert] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Agree %110. THe effects of your training take place during recovery not during excerise.

customerjon @gmail.com is where information happens.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply