Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Cycling ~9 hours a week; How to add running back in and not lose bike fitness?
Quote | Reply
I've been cycling only for the past 8 months to get ready for some gravel events this summer, and have enjoyed getting stronger on the bike. But now I'm starting to miss running and want to get back to it.

However, I have this silly fear in my mind that as soon as I jog down the street all my cycling gains will evaporate. Please tell me this fear is unfounded!

What is a good way to add running back in to the mix so that I can not lose too much on the bike and get decent at running again? I'm not sure I want to double up that often, so I'm probably not going to do 6 days a week of BarryP; 4 days a week is more likely.

I can probably afford (timewise) to add 2 extra hours of training time per week purely for running, more run time than that and it will take away riding time (which might be the right call, not sure).
Quote Reply
Re: Cycling ~9 hours a week; How to add running back in and not lose bike fitness? [brando] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Run four times a week and you will be fine.
Quote Reply
Re: Cycling ~9 hours a week; How to add running back in and not lose bike fitness? [brando] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Doesn't sound like you want actual advice since you answered your own question:

"I can probably afford (timewise) to add 2 extra hours of training time per week purely for running, more run time than that and it will take away riding time (which might be the right call, not sure)."

If you want actual advice then run 6 days a week for 30 minutes a day.

Instagram or twitter me softly @xatefrogg
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply