Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Cycling Shoes With Altra Like Fit?
Quote | Reply
The title says it all.

Back in January I developed a nasty toe injury and was hobbled for about a month. I was in a boot and did nothing on the bike or running. During that time I had some orthotics made by a Doc that I had hoped would help solve the cause. One of his comments was that I have a "freakishly high arch". It sort of worked but late last week it came back.

My issue is that I need a high volume shoe with a wide toe box to fit the orthotic and remove pressure from the joint of my big toe.. I've been running in Altras for about 4 years and love the fit.

Bont looks like it has the right shape. Is that the only one?
Quote Reply
Re: Cycling Shoes With Altra Like Fit? [svennn] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
From my experience yes, bonts are the only ones that fit my boats!
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I'm also a long time Altra runner because of my wider feet. Cycling shoes have always been difficult for me. Often wide sizes are not really available. And many "wides" are not really wide. For example SIDI. Giro sells a high volume shoe which is not really wide.

I've been quite happy with Shimano's wide shoes.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Bont "wide" is pretty much your only option unless you go custom.
Quote Reply
Re: Cycling Shoes With Altra Like Fit? [GreenPlease] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
GreenPlease wrote:
Bont "wide" is pretty much your only option unless you go custom.

I might even try some sort of customization by melding an old Altra upper to an old pair of cycling shoes.

I've been suffering in my basement on the Kickr for 12 weeks working towards a race that is 4 weeks out. Now I have to skip it.

I need to find a solution.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
svennn wrote:
The title says it all.