Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Chicago Ohio St Beach Swimming into the Fall
Quote | Reply
Hi all,

I'm fairly new to open water swimming. This was my first year swimming at Ohio St beach and I only had time for a few swims before Labor Day. I'm not ready to be done with it for the year so I have questions:

1. How late into Fall do you guys swim? If based on water temp, how low can you go with a wetsuit? Right now I think it's reading 65 degrees.
2. Do they have lockers year round?
3. During the summer, it's my understanding that you want to get your swim in before the beach opens and the lifeguards are out (or maybe that's just a crowd avoidance?). Is there any hassle going midday in the fall?
4. Are there usually other swimmers during the week or mainly just on weekends?

Entering races to force myself to get off the couch.
Quote Reply
Re: Chicago Ohio St Beach Swimming into the Fall [TriNotToDie] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
1. How late into Fall do you guys swim? If based on water temp, how low can you go with a wetsuit? Right now I think it's reading 65 degrees.
- Ive been in there when it was 55 and that was pretty bad. I wouldnt go any lower than that.
- Dont think so but could be wrong. I moved last year and the fall before that they were redoing that area.
3. During the summer, it's my understanding that you want to get your swim in before the beach opens and the lifeguards are out (or maybe that's just a crowd avoidance?).
Is there any hassle going midday in the fall?
- Midday usually people arent there. I used to go during lunch and it was fine. Even after work it was fine. Usually less people tend to go since the season is wrapping up. Also keep in mind that the water might be choppy.
- Yeah, usually a few people out there but not as many as the summer.

2020 Team Zoot MTN
Quote Reply
Re: Chicago Ohio St Beach Swimming into the Fall [tsdogma] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
tsdogma wrote: