Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Carbon Fiber seat stays?
Quote | Reply
I'd like to reopen this box of worms, is there any benefit to the carbon seat stays or is it just marketing hype?
Quote Reply
Re: Carbon Fiber seat stays? [Luntzy] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I have no problem opening this box of worms: I like this discussion, and this is what I'm doing about it:

1. I bought four new bikes for the '03 season. One, a Yaqui Carbo, has carbon fiber seat stay assembly. The others do not. I will publish my impression and opinions (this is not a pragmatic, empiracle test- I don't have that capability and I'm not an engineer) on our website.

2. I have finished the review of the Litespeed Saber with a carbon seat stay assembly and have substatial commentary on it in that review. It will be up soon.... (on bikesportmichigan.com).

3. I have heard several sides to the arguements for and against. I have already ridden a lot of bikes with both that were properly fitted. I think I am formulating an opinion, but hesitate to comment yet as I still want to gather more information and impressions.

So, much more to be said. What are your opinions/expereinces?

Tom Demerly
The Tri Shop.com
Quote Reply
Re: Carbon Fiber seat stays? [Tom Demerly] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I'm seriously considering the Carbo...I wait with bated breath for this information.

Quid quid latine dictum sit altum videtur
(That which is said in Latin sounds profound)
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
For a comprehensive overview of materials and combinations of disimillar materials Craig Calfee, Calfeedesign.com has a thorough white paper write up. Granted Calfee only builds all carbon bikes, but he does do a good job of explaining material pros and cons.