Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Canoeing/kayaking vs swimming
Quote | Reply
Hi All
Are there any athletes here that also does canoeing or kayaking. I am looking for advice on comparative effort or calories burnt between swimming and rowing/paddling.
I want to do a row/ride/run event to Olympic standard, replacing the swimming leg with kayaking. And for my own sake I would like to give it some credibility. Would be doing it on my own, just because I challenged myself.
(I started training/exercising about six months ago. Currently aged 58. I have a kayak, bicycle and running shoes. That's why!)
Your advice shall be appreciated.
Quote Reply
Re: Canoeing/kayaking vs swimming [Jan Marais] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I find kayaking a greater effort, but maybe that's because I've been swimming for twice as long.

Stop thinking about calories of effort and just enjoy another sport.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
my canoe racing has all been whitewater slalom, which is more like a sprint.. so no direct experience.

this looks like a pretty good overview,
https://files.meetup.com/...d_while_kayaking.pdf
references,
http://prevention.sph.sc.edu/...ments_compendium.pdf

looks like canoe/kayak would be comparable to swimming in terms of METs, at moderate and vigorous effort levels.
So just use an equivalent time, and paddle hard ;-)
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Jan Marais wrote:
Hi All
Are there any athletes here that also does canoeing or kayaking. I am looking for advice on comparative effort or calories burnt between swimming and rowing/paddling.
I want to do a row/ride/run event to Olympic standard, replacing the swimming leg with kayaking. And for my own sake I would like to give it some credibility. Would be doing it on my own, just because I challenged myself.
(I started training/exercising about six months ago. Currently aged 58. I have a kayak, bicycle and running shoes. That's why!)
Your advice shall be appreciated.