Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Candence / zwift workouts
Quote | Reply
I'm new to cycling training... I thought you just ride a bike and eventually get quicker at doing it 😜

Doing an FTP builder over 4 weeks on zwift (did a ramp test before and will do once after)...

my issue is the candence requirements seems rather high.... even in the warm up and rest intervals the - keep it steady at an easy 85rpm - isn't very comfortable for sustained periods and 100 ruins me fairly quick but I can do higher power output at lower candence (and smoother) when doing just free rides....

Now I know each rider has. their own style with plus and minus points... but I find it frustrating struggling to reach the higher target rpms and maintain them smoothly...

I think I might have just answered the question I was going to ask in that...I suck at high candence so need to train at high candence but also make time for just comfy pace rides...it's the same for running...I'm no sprinter... wonder if it's because I'm a taller person.. these long legs take some time to turn over ...or as za newbie...I just suck 😢😂 (starting to train has humbled me alot these last 12 weeks!)

merry Christmas!
Quote Reply
Re: Candence / zwift workouts [skutter] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Hit the power numbers and don't worry about the cadence. As your power goes up over time it's likely cadence will follow. Doesn't work the other way round though.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I was a product of the 1980's high cadence era. It was spin 100+ all the time, i got good at it. I took time off (from cycling) in the 90's and got back into it in 2002.

I started spinning like i used to and it tired me out so i spun slower and was able to ride well. In 2006 i got my first power meter and that reinforced the spin slower thoughts. That has worked well for many years.