Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Can amateurs "peak" or just burnout?
Quote | Reply
You hear about pro's "peaking" for certain races that are their A race. I have always been under the impression that as an amateur, I simply do not put enough training in to ever peak, and stop improving. Burnout is certainly possible, but I never thought I could peak.

I am very serious about looking over the data from my rides (I'm more of a cyclist than anything). This year is the first year I've been training nearly every day. I was seeing significant improvements in my fitness every month. I ride about 7 times a week, usually take one day off and ride twice on a saturday road/mtb. My body was doing great, recovering well and I was getting faster.

About two weeks ago, I took 4 days off, which was the longest I'd had off since mid march. I get back on the bike and my body simply doesn't want to go. I've put in some hard rides and gotten about 100% power wise out of my legs, but I am trashed for days. There isn't the quick recovery I've been used to.

I would love any advice or insight. Here is my ride history from this year: http://app.strava.com/athletes/66722

Is it possible I've "peaked"? Seems a little crazy to me. I would think burnout, but the onslaught of my fatigue was AFTER 4 days of no exercise. Any thoughts ST?
Quote Reply
Re: Can amateurs "peak" or just burnout? [%FTP] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Did you take those off days completely off?
Did you come back at full intensity or did you build into it over a few days?
Did anything else change with regards to nutrition or sleep?
Amateurs can peak, a peak is just backing off a little bit to rest enough to really throw down.
Quote Reply
Re: Can amateurs "peak" or just burnout? [AaronT] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I did not ride or exercise at all.
I came back and did a shorter ride with a few efforts, but I was planning to race the next evening so i was pretty conservative.