Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Can I rely exclusively on Zwift for hill training?
Quote | Reply
I'm relatively new to Zwift (bike only) and training for Whistler full. This will be my third time doing that race so I'm pretty familiar with what the bike course entails. I can find a few climbs to train on outdoors, but they are far from home and I'd rather not drive there with my bike if I can help it. I do long rides outdoors on Saturdays but my default route is relatively flat; I prefer it because I find it reasonably safe.

For those who spend a lot of time on Zwift, will I notice any worse climbing ability come race day if I rely on Zwift for hill training, versus training on hills outdoors? I have a Kickr and do not have the Kickr Climb. Thanks
Quote Reply
Re: Can I rely exclusively on Zwift for hill training? [jpk_phx] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
My personal opinion is that a watt is a watt, regardless of flat or uphill. That said, it is a bit hard to simulate hills on the trainer without the Climb - I try to do a lot of lower cadence work, which can help out.

Blog: http://262toboylstonstreet.blogspot.com/
https://twitter.com/NateThomasTri
Coaching: https://bybtricoaching.com/ - accepting athletes for 2023
Quote Reply
Re: Can I rely exclusively on Zwift for hill training? [jpk_phx] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
As long as you have the gearing, making the climbs shouldn't be an issue.

You'll probably lose more time on the descents, however. I can whip down Alpe d' Zwift at 50mph around the hair pins, but that doesn't help me on the road.
Quote Reply
Re: Can I rely exclusively on Zwift for hill training? [dfroelich] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Good point on the descents. I always have a miniature heart attack when my avatar is coming in too hot on one of those hairpins.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply