Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Brooks Glycerin versus Brooks Ghost
Quote | Reply
I've been running in Brooks Glycerin's for about 4 years and really like them. I've tried a few other shoes over the years and keep going back to the Glycerin. I'm a bigger guy (6' 190#) and not fast. The Glycerin has been a good shoes for my plodding along.

I've run in the Glycerin 10, 11, and 12 currently. I have supinate very badly and shred the outside of my shoes (to the point that I add shoe goo to the outer edge of the sole to slow down the wear).

I've gotten used to getting fewer miles out of my shoes than most people probably do. I have been buying Glycerin's (prior model year) on discount for several years so they cost about half as much as a new pair). This is getting harder to do and I'm looking for some alternatives.

The Ghost appears to be the next shoe "down" on the Brooks line. It is a little less cushioned but a very popular neutral. I'm wondering if this may be a good option/alternative, given the way I'm tearing through shoes. I've never run in Ghost's but wouldn't mind giving them a try. Curious about other's experiences.
Quote Reply
Re: Brooks Glycerin versus Brooks Ghost [dprocket] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I started this adventure of distance racing a little over a year ago. I am also of a large build. While I've lost a lot of weight I'm still heavy compared to the skinny folks on here.