Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Bricked Di2 Battery BT-DN110
Quote | Reply
The Shimano e-tube app on the iPhone bricked my new battery when it tried to update its firmware to new version (should've known better than trusting wifi and bluetooth for firmware update, as an engineer myself.) But long story short, after many retries with different iPhones, iPads, delete then re-download the app, etc., the battery is still bricked: won't charge, won't power the junction box, nothing. My search told me that I will need a PCE1 cable/thingy to connect it to a PC to somehow overwrite the firmware, but I don't have one. I may have to take it to the LBS to get it done. At the mean time, just curious, does anyone else encounter this problem before (again, my search tells me this is not an uncommon issue)? And if so, what did you do to get it fixed.
Quote Reply
Re: Bricked Di2 Battery BT-DN110 [dalava] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Same thing happened to me. I bricked mine even after reading about the issue in the e-tube app reviews and on the Shimano e-tube project website. Luckily I had the SM-BCR2 battery charger that you can also use as a PC link device. Downloaded the PC app from the e-tube project website and was back up in about 15-20 minutes. The biggest delay was finding a Windows laptop (we've switched to Mac but the kids still had an older Windows one). Apparently the laptop e-tube project is Windows only.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Try disconnecting battery from wire and re-connecting it.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I bricked mine by not closing the App correctly. I tried everything like you did. Gave up took it to LBS. Guy there fixed me right up and didn’t make to much fun of me while doing it. Less learned. Close the App. Wait for confirmation.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Have you tried connecting it to a PC running the etube software via your charging USB wire?
Quote Reply