Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Bont Riot+ sizing
Quote | Reply
I'm pretty new to cycling and my Giros are too tight. I slipped on a Bont Riot+ and they seem to have more room in the area in front of the arch. I don't know what size I tried on. I had read somewhere that you should buy one size up (European sizes). My Giros are 46s and are not too short.

Should I buy the 46s or 47s?

TIA,

Not a coach. Not a FOP Tri/swimmer/biker/runner. Barely a MOP AGer.
But I'm learning and making progress.
Quote Reply
Re: Bont Riot+ sizing [LEBoyd] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I'd go up.

I'm usually a 44 in most shoes. Got some Bont Riot TR a couple of years ago in 44.5 after using their sizing guide, and they were just a hair too short, which has no compromise because the outsole wraps up in front of your toes. Replaced with 45 and they're great. Unbelievably stiff. Good arch support. But quite flat under the ball (almost feels convex) and sometimes leave my foot going numb above the cleat. Plenty of toe room though.

Note that despite their claims they really aren't heat mouldable, but unless you have really mutant feet this should be fine. I know they claim to be, and all the reviews you read say they "can be", but never talk about direct experiences doing this. Reviews online seem to frequently concur with my experience though. Better to throw some different insoles in them if need be.
Quote Reply
Re: Bont Riot+ sizing [MattyK] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Thanks for the reply. I have custom insoles that I tried in my Giros to see if that would stop my toes/front of feet going numb. I tried a bike fit after three different saddles and no change. I then rode my son's bike (2cm smaller and shorter seat height) to see if it was my bike in some way, but had the same results. So I'm ready to try different shoes. As I mentioned, I tried the Bont's on in the store and had noticeably more room in the front foot/toes area.