Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Blood profile for Triathletes
Quote | Reply
Have any of you found that certain elements of your blood chemistry are out of the prescribed range due to your training and/or nutrition?

This is my first season as a Triathlete. I started training about one year ago. I was running just for health, and then I started swimming to improve my upper body for surfing. Someone told me to get a bike and I’ve been hooked on tri ever since. My wife does it too and we’ve both seen big improvements in our weight and overall health. We also eat pretty well. Only the overweight people think we look unhealthy. I haven’t been sick in a year even with two small kids in school. And to the total disbelief of doctors and nurses, neither of us takes any medication. My wife had two elective surgeries this season and her recover time was 1/3 the time predicted by her doctors. Her doctors’ explanation was that they just were not use to someone as healthy as her.

We both just did the annual health fair with blood work. The last time I did it was in 1997, I was 33 and my cholesterol was bad. So, I go to get our results expecting a big gold star on my report and find a note on both of our reports saying to see our doctor soon! Our cholesterol had improved dramatically but on a few of the other items we were out of range, the exact ones. The nurse had no explanation. What else is interesting is that when I look at my 1997 report, the reference ranges on numerous elements then were different and some of my “bad” data would have been OK then. Has the medical industry given up on health life styles and adjusted the test so more people pass?

We are planning to talk to our doctor but I’m afraid he’ll prescribe a jar of pills and have us eat more grease and watch 4 hours of TV a day. That way we can be “normal”.

David
Quote Reply
Re: Blood profile for Triathletes [FLORIDAVID] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply