Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Bikes and Motorcycles
Quote | Reply
Besides my fully-committed cycling and triathlon hobby, I also enjoy riding motorcycles. It's relaxing and, frankly, just fun.

I've noticed often that when I tell people I ride a motorcycle, one of the first questions they ask is "Do you wear a helmet?" (Ohio, where I live, is a helmet-optional state). However, when I meet people and we talk about cycling, they NEVER ask that question.

I know the experience of riding a motorcycle versus a bicycle is an apples to oranges comparison. But for those of you out there who enjoy both activities, I was wondering what your feeling is on which activity carries more risk. Also, does anyone know where I can access head injury data for bicycling?

Quote Reply
Re: Bikes and Motorcycles [Quadzilla] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Can't say that I do both anymore. I loved my motorcycle, but when I had kids I sold it. I make my living as an attorney defending accident claims. I have seen way too many tragic accidents (by fault of both the motorcycle operator and the other vehicle) to justify riding a motorcycle at my point in life. I cover a significant geographic area in my state so I see a lot, but am sure people that work in ERs have a far more graphic experience. Riding a bicycle is dangerous and it does scare me, but I think the speeds involved on a motorcycle make it far more life threatening or risky for traumatic injury. I am not sure that head injury statistics would show me much one way or the other. Motorcycle helmets are required in my state and most of my cases have involved things other than head injury-still very scary. Like all celebrity things, Jason Williams motorcycle accident is big news, but that type of thing happens regularly to those of us that are nobodies-risk is just not worth it for me.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
This site might help:

http://www.helmets.org/index.htm
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply