Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Bike selling question (Cervelo p2c)
Quote | Reply
I am selling my wife’s Cervelo P2C on Craig’s List because I do not want to have to shop it.

It is a 48cm with 650c wheels and like new shape as she just does not have the time for it.

I got several folks inquiring about it but I have very little CL experience.

What for one does this mean?

“Good, can you accept payment via cashier check on certified check and wait till you clear it from your bank before i pickup”

Is that legit?
Quote Reply
Re: Bike selling question (Cervelo p2c) [Herbert] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
SUPER shady. I'd say cash only for all CL transactions.

I forgot that Craigslist themselves advise against this:
https://www.craigslist.org/about/scams

Quote:
Don't accept cashier/certified checks or money orders - banks cash fakes, then hold you responsible.
Last edited by: nickwhite: May 6, 19 10:21
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Scam.

Cash only.
Quote Reply
Re: Bike selling question (Cervelo p2c) [nickwhite] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
What about PayPal?
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Herbert wrote:
What about PayPal?

Nope. The buyer can file a SNAD complaint and get a full refund.
Quote Reply
Re: Bike selling question (Cervelo p2c) [jimatbeyond] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
jimatbeyond wrote:
Herbert wrote:
What about PayPal?

Nope. The buyer can file a SNAD complaint and get a full refund.

Yep, this. Using PayPal, the buyer can get their money back too easy: then you're left without a bike and without money.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
The two answers above are specific to PayPal's "Paying for an item or service" option. That tends to protect the buyer more than the seller. Or not protect the seller at all.