Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Bike intervals - how steady can you hold power?
Quote | Reply
I'm still somewhat new to a power meter and I'm using the WKO optimized intervals. Here is my workout:
  • 5 intervals
  • 3:38 long with equal rest.
  • The target range is 109%-119% of FTP
  • At my pitiful FTP, that is about a 20 watt range
  • I'm using a Forerunner with Garmin Vector 3 power meter and looking at the metric Power 3s.
  • I'm doing this workout outside on smooth, flat, concrete roads.

The problem I have is I'll be just a little below the range so I'll add just a little more power. Somehow I instantly swing to way too much power. So I try to back off just a little, and it instantly falls way below the range. Repeat non-stop until the interval is over.

Is this just normal for power ranges above FTP or do I just lack some skill?

I realize wind can make it tricky but I seem to have the same problem even when it is fairly still. Maybe I'm just underestimating variable outdoor conditions?
Last edited by: tomljones3: Jul 19, 19 12:37
Quote Reply
Re: Bike intervals - how steady can you hold power? [tomljones3] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Is this on a trainer or outside, and if on a trainer, what trainer. This probably depends a lot on environment.

I had a Kurt Kinetic Road Machine-- one of the smoothest dumb trainers on the planet-- and I could probably keep my power targets within 5W at near-FTP. Outside is harder, because there are way more environmental factors at play. Now that I have a smart trainer, it is kind of out of my direct control. Still, on that one, I think my power fluctuates as much as ±10W at times, but it is probably typically ±7W.
Quote Reply
Re: Bike intervals - how steady can you hold power? [exxxviii] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Good points, I should have included that info. I edited my original post.

Maybe I'm just underestimating how variable it is to ride outside?
Quote Reply