Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Bike CdaCrr Android app (now part of an aero system)
Quote | Reply
Hi all,

I have been playing with virtual elevation method for several years now (many thanks to Robert for this and all other guys who provided advices here on ST) and as recent threads pointed out, field testing ask us a lot of time. In order to reduce the time to collect data and analyse it, I recently wrote an Android app to monitor CdA and Crr on an ANT+ enabled phone and it needs an ANT+ powermeter (and an additional ANT+ speed sensor for crank PM). The main features are:

-Compute CdA on laps if mean velocity is high enough (given a Crr estimation)
-Compute Crr on laps if mean velocity is low enough (given a Cda estimation)
-Air density is calculated automatically with weather station data and the app try to use device sensor as much as possible (pressure, temperature if any)
-Data is recorded in 2 different CSV files which is possible to get for post analysis and comparison (for example via Aerolab in GoldenCheetah)

Edit: The app is today a part of an aero system as a anemometer may be connected: see https://forum.slowtwitch.com/...ost=6926334#p6926334
Edit (2021/12): Ant+ protocol is not necessary anymore for phone or sensors. BLE sensors are supported so any Android phone will run the app

I am testing now an other mode (segment mode) where CdA is computed on the fly with a limited precision (2 digits only) during a ride. Every 1.5 km (@35 kmh), a number is printed on the screen of the device. Of course it is a virtual CdA number cause it depends of wind and drafting, but it is very interesting to see the influence of drafting for example in a group ride...

Thanks, if you get a try with the app (it has been tested with PowerTap and Power2max for the moment and several ANT+ Sony or Samsung phones) and I am interested by any new feature request.