Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Bike Box Alan vs Premier Bike Case
Quote | Reply
Yes, I know the "what bike case should I buy" topic is a beaten dead horse, but I'm torn on this one. BBA seems like it's the best option in terms of the easiest and safest way to get my Speed Concept packed for travel, particularly since I'm a terrible bike mechanic (I try, but my hands want to do everything wrong). However, it is more expensive and looks large enough that I'll get tagged for oversized luggage when I travel with it. The Premier case is well recommended here, but I don't have the actual specs, it looks like I'll have to remove the chain and derailleur (yeah, I know, this should be a basic skill), and I'm not in love with the idea of a zipper closure for the case. I have decided it will definitely be one of these two, just not sure which to go with and would love to hear advice/experiences with people familiar with either or both cases. TIA.
Quote Reply
Re: Bike Box Alan vs Premier Bike Case [Jelana] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
You'll probably get a lot of people telling you that the one they own is better. I'm guessing they are both pretty great, but would toss in my own vote for the BBA (no experience with the premier box). To me, the BBA box is the best thing to happen to bike travel since airplanes. Packing/unpacking takes 20 minutes and it doesn't feel too big. I recently flew from LA to Miami and back on American and was not charged an oversize baggage fee. Happy BBA user here...

-------
Anders
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Premier is cheaper, smaller, and thus probably also a bit lighter. If your bike fits, it's a good option. It would likely be easier to fit in a car.

I would personally recommend the BBA for the following reasons:
- BBA has wider handlebar capacity. My 42cm road bars would not fit in the Premier because my drops are 450mm c-c. I'd need to install 40cm or 42cm bars that don't flare