Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Big guys weigh in on this one
Quote | Reply
I'm 6' 1/2" and 210. I've been battling the IM nutrition-electrolyte puzzle for 3 years. At LP I did the last loop on the bike on a total of 400 cals because of GI distress. Bike nutrition was Carbo-Pro and a little bit of Accelerade for flavor. Got off the bike and the conventional wisdom told me I'd better get some cals down anyway possible or a bonk was a distinct possibility. I pushed maybe 150-200/hr as my gut protested the entire time until I hit mile 19 and said no more. I took nothing but p/o a banana and some water the rest of the way in. The gut cleared and I actually got stronger each mile and finished well. No problems post race. Recovered exceptionally well and quickly. This got me thinking, maybe I don't need what has been prescribed -- 3 reasonably reliable sources suggest 350 cals/hr give or take.

All together I had about 2,600 cals for the 14:36. Call it 180 cal/hr if I spread it out evenly. I'm not willing to drop it down that far for the next one about 250 cals/hr on the bike is what I'm thinking and hope I can retain the 200 or so cals/hr on the run.

So the question to the group is anybody fueling on the lean side and doing ok with it?
Quote Reply
Re: Big guys weigh in on this one [Chappy] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
The nutrition info I've read listed 400 cal/hour as the max you could hope to digest while working hard but I've never come close to that. It could also be the concentration not just the amount. With most products, I've always done better with a lower concentration than the recommended dose and about 200-300 cal/hr.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
At 6'2", 205 I feel your pain.. I usually try for 200-300 cal/hr... so far it has worked for IM Cal, and IM FL... I primarily use Power Gel or Gu with cut Gatorade.

S 36
Quote Reply
Re: Big guys weigh in on this one [neelyjp] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply