Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Better use of money?
Quote | Reply
What is a better use of money? A coach or upgrade from a road bike to a tri bike or better wheel set for the road bike for a full distance? They are not exactly the same price, but don't want to spend the price for all of it yet....
Quote Reply
Re: Better use of money? [Sleepyluke] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
So based on what your asking to me you've not fully invested in the sport, *yet*. I think you can certainly get by with a road bike + clip on bars, but to me an tri bike is an "all in" investment in the sport. I think you can then realize more what you want and likely look for a coach. I've worked at a tri shop and that was my selling point with which bike to buy. To me an tri bike is the investment you are making that says your ready to go all in on triathlon and not just "figuring it out".

(I'm a coach giving you this advice).

Brooks Doughtie, M.S.
Exercise Physiology
-USAT Level II
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Get a used tri bike!
Quote Reply
Re: Better use of money? [T3_Beer] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Get a bike fit, then a used tri bike.
Quote Reply
Re: Better use of money? [jdais] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I guess I should have clarified a little more. Recently had a true bike fit with a GURU system and have clip on bars and forward seat post, so getting close to a true "tri" position on a road bike, but it still has its limitations as to its original design. I have been debating on how much more to put into my current bike vs buying a good used tri bike and being done. I have done several years worth of sprints on the road bike as a road bike, but want to go longer distances more often, and honestly I want one too....

But I definitely see the benefits of a coach, but there are lots of online training plans out there that have gotten lots of people across that finish line.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply