Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Best ways to get started mountain biking?
Quote | Reply
I've been riding road bikes and TT bikes for 20 years, just bought my first mountain bike (Canyon Neuron AL) because I moved to Utah and live right at the base of trail-filled mountains.

I was wondering what people have found helpful or not when starting mountain biking after riding a lot of road and tri.
  • I'm a pretty confident road bike handler (battling toward the top in Strava for steep, winding, switch-back-filled mountain descents), don't know how that will translate to MTB.
  • My pedaling fitness will be way above my MTB skill level
  • I hate the feeling of riding flat pedals, so I'm planning to start with SPDs. It seems like some think riding with flats is better to develop MTB skills and technique. Any thoughts?
  • I hate crashing, but I know it'll happen. Planning to get elbow/knee pads.

I'd love to learn from your experience, both good and bad. What helped you learn quickly? What set you back?
Quote Reply
Re: Best ways to get started mountain biking? [nilloc] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I have been MTBing a lot lately after a ~20 year hiatus.

I ride with some fast enduro types and they are all able to do it on clipless, I don't think you need to force yourself to ride flats. I would say just go out and ride and get comfortable on the bike. Ride as much single track as possible. Try flat sections faster and faster. There are good MTB skill instructors out there who can teach you how to bunny hop and then jump. One other key skill is getting off the saddle and keeping your weight back on the descents, that is a really key body position to master.

I would just advise you to ride with a few faster folks and follow their lines. See how they set up turns and navigate through technical areas.