Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Be gentle, it's my first time.
Quote | Reply
In Feb. of 2004 I began riding with a local group of guys. I couldn't say enough GREAT things about them. They were and continue to be encouraging and wonderful. Every good skill that I have developed on my bike I owe to them. They always treat me and each other with respect and care. BUT...every once in awhile a new guy will show up and He will treat me like a rash or worse...ask me out. Now here is my dilemma and where the conflict comes in. People do not ask Joe out for Thai. Nobody singles out Bob at the end of a ride to see if he wants to go on a tour for two. Is it wrong for me to want to be treated like the other cyclists that I ride with? I act like them and I ride like them (draft, paceline and blow snot-rockets). I am the only woman that rides with these guys and most of the time I am just proud to be me but when I get singled out in front of my fellow riders it just feels bad. I don't want to misrepresent the group but some days it's all I can do to be civil when treated like an alien by a newcomer. Riding with this group is good for me. They challenge me every time and I don't want to give up riding with them. I need a new way to look at this (in a positive light) and some suggestions on how to turn it around and just be kind. Thanks.
Quote Reply
Re: Be gentle, it's my first time. [dakinilegs] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Since I'm assuming you're a girl, you're not always going to be treated as "one of the guys". Girls who find themselves in male-dominated envrionments are going to get hit on. Nothing you can do about it... if they're polite, politely say no. If they're not, ask the guy named Record10Ti what you can do with some cycling shoes or a cup of hot coffee.

That sucks... I never get asked out when I ride with the Dizzy Chicks! I claim discrimination.