Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Bang for your buck power meter
Quote | Reply
Looking to take the plunge into a power meter. I'm not necessarily looking for the cheapest, but I'm also not a pro and +/-3% accuracy is more than effective for me. Wondering if anyone has recommendations for best bang for your buck power meters that are effective and reliable. Thanks in advance!
Quote Reply
Re: Bang for your buck power meter [ninagski] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
The best bang for your buck pm IMO is a powertub hub. But that presents issues if you have multiple wheelsets.

To narrow it down, you need to decide what type of pm do you want/prefer or what is going to work best for you personally. Do you have multiple bikes? Do you want the pm on more than 1 bike? How mechanically inclined are you and are you willing to swap the pm between bikes?

blog
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
PowerTap Hub is often referred to as a very good lower priced alternative.

Do you plan on using it with more than one bike? If so a pedal-based power meter would be a wise choice. I just got the Favero Assioma Duo and am loving it. They, along with Garmin and PowerTap make a single sided version in the $500-$600 range that could be ideal for you.

Google DC Rainmaker 2017 power meter guide and you'll find the most comprehensive info set on power meters.
Quote Reply
Re: Bang for your buck power meter [stevej] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I'm not super mechanically inclined and I have a "dumb trainer" that I swap out a trainer wheel when riding. I'd like to see power numbers when I'm on the trainer, so not sure the hub mounted one would be the best. Though, I like the simplicity.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply