Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

BMC TM02 ( 105 ) Vs Felt IA14 ( Ultegra )
Quote | Reply
Hello guys !

First post from a beginner triathlete.

I Have been training for the last 3 months. I started running 3 years ago and then started doing some cycling. Now I'm trying this tri thing.

Well, I need some advice from you. I am currently training in a Trek Emonda ALR4 ( Tiagra Groupset ) with a profile design t2 carbon aero bars.

That's more than enough for me at the moment, but you knnow how it is... I started to watch lots of videos and research some bikes that I have the feeling of being more "mentaly focused" if I ride on a specific tri bike.

Here in my country I can find a BMC TM02 with a 105 groupset for the same price of a Felt IA14 ( Ultegra Groupset ).

Both bikes are used for about a year and in very good condition.

Given that both of them will be overkill for me at the moment, should I go with the Felt due to its better groupset or will I have any advantages on going with the BMC even though having a slightly lower groupset.

I am still deciding if I should buy another bike, but if I decide for buying, probably would be one of these.

Thanks a lot
Quote Reply
Re: BMC TM02 ( 105 ) Vs Felt IA14 ( Ultegra ) [Asdrubal] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Get fit first.

Assuming both fit, the Felt.
Quote Reply
Re: BMC TM02 ( 105 ) Vs Felt IA14 ( Ultegra ) [Pwraddr] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
A lot of the cost difference in road bike groups is in the shifter and crankset. Both things irrelevant to a tri bike. Bar end shifters and swapping for shorter cranks.

In a tri/TT bike I wouldn't let the crank/group guide my choice. I would base it most around how well it can be adjusted to fit my body, then how well it can store what I want to carry in an ergo and aerodynamic way, then how aero it is itself (including what wheels/tires it can fit). The groupset would be down below even that.