Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Are frames aero enough?
Quote | Reply
Had a weird thought last night and wondering about the middle of bikes. For wheels the current thought is to go deep or disc. What is done about the frames, not much a little tweaking of tubes to make more aero.

I don't clearly understand aero physics, but wouldn't a frame cover type of solution, similar to a wheel cover, offer aero benefits?

Just wondering. Anyone have any opinions? Obviously there would be more side wind problems. But doesn't at least a frame equivalent of a Zipp 808 make sense?
Quote Reply
Re: Are frames aero enough? [6oclock_low] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
A frame cover inside of the triangle? It would work like a sail when the wind blows. I'm no expert but I would think that many bikes are close to the areo-extreme but with new technology comes new advantages so only time will tell what will come.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I don't have any actual numbers, but from what I've heard, once you put a rider on a frame, there is little difference between an aero frame and a round tube frame.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Do a search for Trimble aero bikes. You'll probably come up with something that is pretty close to your idea.

Greg.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
plus something like a "frame cover" would be considereed a fairing, which is illegal for tri or UCI races.

Fighting gravity on a daily basis
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
About 70-80% of the drag comes from the rider. So getting as aero a position as possible is more important than getting the bike to be more aerodynamic.

Member of the Litespeed Factory Team
www.litespeed.com
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
There is only so much that can be done with a double diamond style frame. The bikes offered on the market now are probably close to aero maxed out already. The only way to get more aero is likely a return to non traditional frames like with the Cheetah, Lotus, etc.