Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Are XTERRA Tri's dying out, or thriving ?
Quote | Reply
I've been doing tri for ~10 years, and recently purchased a MTB (Specialized Epic WC) and would love to hop into an Xterra. But even though I am in an active state like California, they are hard to find!!

So, why aren't there many Xterra races?? I plan on doing one in So Cal, and Tahoe, but I simply don't have many more to choose from unless I travel pretty far.

Are Xterra's dying out? Why so few race options?

Thank you
Last edited by: p3: Mar 29, 18 15:46
Quote Reply
Re: Are XTERRA Tri's dying out, or thriving ? [p3] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
The intimidation factor for XTERRA racing is relatively high I suppose. The number of races has probably dropped a bit. One of the reasons why I stopped trying to do XTERRAs was because there were very few in my area (southern AZ) whereas back in the Southeast, where I lived prior to summer 2016, there were plenty.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
My sense is that they dropped the numbers of races 3 or so years ago but they seem stable now. I live in NH and there are really only 3 within a 5 hour drive of where I live.

I still plan to do two if possible this summer. I am also going to do some mtb races, they are more plentiful.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply