Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Apple Watch vs. Garmin
Quote | Reply
The whole ransomeware thing has me seriously considering changing to Apple Watch. This is after using various Garmin watches for over 15 years. Somehow I just don't think Apple would be as vulnerable to such attacks. The fact that I think Garmin actually paid off the attackers isn't helping.

So, what would I be missing out on by using an Apple Watch instead of my Garmin 735xt?
Quote Reply
Re: Apple Watch vs. Garmin [Celerius] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
My apple watch sits on my bedside table and gets used...never. Fenix is worn daily.

Before the Fenix I had the apple junk die during an ultra, give inaccurate numbers, provide nothing like as much data as I needed, etc, etc

For sports use, the apple is as much use as....an apple.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I've been using the Apple Watch the last two years. I've been borrowing a 920XT for the last 6 months or so for my activities. I think it will ultimately come down to what you want to use your watch for.

The Apple Watch certainly has a much, much shorter battery life. After two years, it's short enough, it will likely be my driver to replace it. I used to be able to make it through two sleeps. It can no longer make it that long.

It isn't going to work with cycling sensors. I've had horrible luck with the Apple Watch on pool swims.

I had originally thought I would really enjoy the phone/watch interaction on the Apple Watch. I no longer care for most of it and only use it the extent of knowing if I can ignore an incoming text.

For me, I'll be moving from Apple to Garmin on my next watch.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Why do you believe garmin paid off the attackers?

If my training was less structured and casual I’d probably be fine with Apple Watch for swimming and running as the data wouldn’t matter as much to me. And I’m doubting it would be great for something like a half distance triathlon.