Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Apple Watch to TrainingPeaks / Strava / Garmin Connect
Quote | Reply
Hi folks,

I'm an iOS developer and recently released a Health app that lets you import Health exports into new phones (https://www.macstories.net/...ata-between-iphones/). I'm not an Apple Watch user myself (I use a VAHR), but after getting my feet wet after writing a Health app and doing some research, it seems like it's sort of impossible to use an Apple Watch with a service like TrainingPeaks, since there's no (current) way to export the workouts. This seems like a huge shortcoming. For any athletes who want to import this data, you're sort of stuck doing it manually.

The files that most of these services can import are basically some form of XML and was planning on throwing together a prototype for an app that would hook into the Health app and sync workouts from the Apple Watch and import them correctly. I was going to start off with TrainingPeaks since that's what I use, but open to other suggestions.

To any Apple Watch wearers out there—any comments? Is this something you'd use or pay for? Thanks!

Dan
Last edited by: shminxy86: Dec 14, 16 15:09
Quote Reply
Re: Apple Watch to TrainingPeaks [shminxy86] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I have an AW, but I probably would never use it for athlete stuff, because it has tons of shortcomings in that space. I think that the root problem is that Health does not have geocoded activity data; geocoded data only live in the Activity app on the iPhone. So, if you can write an export that could pull geocoded workout data from the Activity app on the phone, convert it to one of the formats that Strava/Golden Cheetah/TrainingPeaks/etc. support, and push it to the app, it seems that would be pretty useful to some folks.
Quote Reply
Re: Apple Watch to TrainingPeaks [exxxviii] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply