Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Anyone have experience with Amateur road racing in France? Need Advice!
Quote | Reply
I'm going to spend increasing larger amounts of time in France and I was wondering if anyone has any experience racing road in France?

I have no knowledge of how their racing system works, so any and all details are appreciated. Thank you!
Quote Reply
Re: Anyone have experience with Amateur road racing in France? Need Advice! [cabdoctor] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Hi,

I'm not a total expert on French amateur cycling, but like most things Francais, the sporting system is built on a club foundation.

Here's a good link on how to get started in racing. It suggests to find a local club. This makes signing up for events easier, as to register for a race, you need a doctor's approval (generally), and a club helps make that process easier.

You can't just sign a waiver like registering for a race in the States.

This link is very helpful in finding a local club and I think you can go from there.

https://www.freewheelingfrance.com/...h-cycling-clubs.html

Good luck and have fun!

Mark

Fast-Finishes.com
Triathlon and Running Race Timing
Athletic Event Management
Quote Reply
Re: Anyone have experience with Amateur road racing in France? Need Advice! [cabdoctor] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Agree with previous comment that it's easiest to sign up with a local club/team to where you will stay in France.
However, I assume you already have a valid UCI licence from your federation? then I think you could sign up for most individual races as well (at least this is the case in Netherlands/Belgium). Just make sure that your international category is correct and search for races in these categories.