Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: Anyone had the plate removed from their broken collarbone? [Freelancer] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Ha, while I am a grad student and could use the extra income... alas, the unused oxycodone won't make its way to the ST classifieds. ;)
I had mine removed because there was discomfort with any pressure over that region. Otherwise, it probably would've stayed.
Quote Reply
Re: Anyone had the plate removed from their broken collarbone? [bradhere] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Surprisingly, the surgeon said I can be back to full lifting 4 wks post-op... push ups, pull ups, etc. After the first surgery, I had to wait 12 wks. But only 4 wks this time! I'm trying to be good in the mean time. :)
Quote Reply
Re: Anyone had the plate removed from their broken collarbone? [knova] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I had a surgeon say to me ... if you fell on this shoulder, the plate and screws would hold. But you could break something in another place ... that we 4 weeks after the surgery upon viewing new xrays

Such a Bad Runner
Quote Reply
Re: Anyone had the plate removed from their broken collarbone? [SBR_bestgoodbad] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
The surgeon is right that the plate will hold up as long as the bone is healed. The problem is that it would cause a break either close to the sternum or to the end of the shoulder. These breaks are much more complicated to fix so it results in a more extensive surgery with a longer plate and more screws. This is a big reason some people choose to remove the plate. If it breaks again it will most likely be in the middle.
Quote Reply
Re: Anyone had the plate removed from their broken collarbone? [knova] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Wow, that is pretty great news. How many screws did your surgeon use? My plate has 10 screws in it. I am not sure if that affects the recovery from removal or not, but I'd assume the less holes in the bone the better.