Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Another Tubular Newbie Thread
Quote | Reply
My wife bought a new Liv tribike with a tubular wheelset. We are two weeks from IMTX and she is asking me about what to do with flats and what to carry with her. I have no experience on tubulars and from searching this forum it seems like a bad idea to have tubulars if you have no experience. Add to that we have gotten more snow this weekend with the forecast making it unlikely to get any outdoor rides before heading south for the race. Should I:

1) Purchase some Pitstop or similar and hope it works as advertised if there is an issue.
2) Switch her to a spare Zipp 606 wheelset that I have and keep her on clinchers
3) Set her up with a spare tire, knife, CO2 etc and hope she doesn't panic in the moment and can get the job done if a tire blows out?
4) Send her with a knife and a spare butyl and have her try to add a tube to the tubular set up and if there was an issue hope it wasn't a sidewall?
5) Other?

I know there have been similar threads but I'm at a loss on this one, especially since she didn't finish the bike last year I would hate for a tire issue to end her day this time.

Thanks,

Jeff
Quote Reply
Re: Another Tubular Newbie Thread [wjoiner] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Given two weeks until her big race, not finishing the bike last year, and limited experience with tubulars, I'd suggest choice #2. Keep her on the clinchers.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
With the limited information in your post, tubulars definitely don't feel like the right choice for your wife.