Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
An update on my cardiac arrest
Quote | Reply
Hi All, figured I would provide an update along with some details on the cardiac arrest I suffered ~4 weeks ago (2/13) while running in Hawaii. More details in this thread: Almost died this week, heart decided it wasn't happy.: Triathlon Forum: Slowtwitch Forums

Background: I am 46, no history of any heart or major health issues, low cholesterol, low BP, low RHR, eat healthy (but certainly have my splurges in the off season), train 10-15 hours a week year around. I have been racing tri's since 2009, I have been competitive the last 3-4 years (USAT All American, usually topish in my AG and sometimes sneak onto the overall podium in local races.) I usually race three 70.3s a year and finish in the 4:55-5:05 range. I (regrettably) hadn't had any heart checkups or really even an annual physical in years. I was healthy and just didn't worry about things too much. Many different posts on ST had gotten me thinking about doing lab work each year as a baseline and getting some checkups, but I hadn't gotten around to it yet (if you learn anything from my experience.... do not wait on this, no matter how healthy you think you are.) And "no", I didn't have any real signs leading up to the event. Maybe my performance/numbers from my recent workouts weren't quite as good as normal, (slightly higher HR, slightly higher respiratory rate, etc) but I am bit undertrained right now since everything keeps getting cancelled, so I didn't think much of it.