Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Aerobars for a total noob
Quote | Reply
Hey guys, just got a second hand pair of clip on bars for my road bike. I am just getting started in Triathlon so I am not near ready to invest in a proper TT bike just yet. From my first impression my position is way off and my elbows are bent way forward trying to reach the bars. My saddle is moved almost all of the way forward also so should I just be raising the aerobars higher and using a different stem? Not really sure how to go about getting these in a some whah normal position. I have attached the pic below...as embarrassing as it is haha. I appreciate any feedback. Thank you!!

Quote Reply
Re: Aerobars for a total noob [Barberdolan] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
We're gonna really need a further zoomed out, more square-on photo with your pedals at 12/6 and 3/9, but I'd bet a dollar you're gonna and up needing a different seatpost or some other way to get forward. Might just be how I'm imagining the rest of you (see the first few words,) but 1) you look super far back regardless, and 2) yes, you're right, the pad situation is all wrong.

JustinDoesTriathlon

Owner, FuelRodz Endurance.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
yeah, that looks bad, but don't be embarrased, at least you're owning up to it.

Rotating the aero bars back, so your hands are higher (higher than your elbows at least), will bring the elbow pads backwards and close up the elbow angle.

Then, drop your upper body more by lowering (definitely not raising) the stem position (flip it downwards to start with, but you might need a more angled stem). Those aero bars aren't helping by being quite high above the base bar; if the elbow pads can be lowered at all it would help too.

Suspect your saddle needs to go up a bit (10mm+), but not being able to see your feet position makes that harder to judge.