Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Aero/wheel strategy for hilly tris
Quote | Reply
Given my love of hills and a favorable power:weight ratio, I enjoy HIM and IM distance tris with a bit more climbing than most

For example: Sea-to-Summit, SavageMan, IMLOU, and I'm doing IMMT this year (granted not as hilly, but it worked with my schedule) -- and occasionally a local race w/rolling terrain

This climbing and a road bike background motivated my purchase of an aero road Fuji Transonic, to which I've added bolt-on aerobars. Stock wheels I raced on last year are Oval Concepts 950F carbon/alum (50mm deep), which I realize are unimpressive.

I am not heavy, with race weight 130-132lbs.

How would you optimize for speed/aero given these constraints? I am thinking of doing a Zipp 808 in the rear and 404 up front. I have no experience with carbon wheels; climbing can also imply some pretty serious descents. Should I be concerned about braking performance? and/or cross-wind effects given my light weight? Thanks so much!
Quote Reply
Re: Aero/wheel strategy for hilly tris [westandrew] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
unless it's wet? braking should be fine

as for winds.. the 404 overall if not great at handing winds... you will probably feel it. But I dont know you threshold so it's hard to say if you can handle it. I'm heavier (alot) and I only dont like a deep wheel in areas where I can get surprised by it. Like in between canyons, hills, mountains where you can get hit suddenly.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
When in doubt go shallow up front. I’d strongly suggest looking at the Jet Black 4 front 9 rear combo. Very versatile.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
If you like racing hills, I HIGHLY recommend aluminum brake track wheels. And, in general, deeper is always better, but YMMV.