Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Adult onset swim video critique - quest for Kona
Quote | Reply
Take a look and let me know what 2-3 things I should focus on. My goal is to get back to Kona, to do so I need to improve my swim.

Background:
- Long-time triathlete adult onset swimmer
- Avg. yardage per week 7-10k
- Swim 2-3X per week, there aren't any good masters programs that work for my schedule :-(
- Sendoff is 1:40 to 1:35 hitting the wall around 1:25 SCY
- HIM 33 & IM 1:08

Ultimately, I want to get below 30 mins for HIM

The video is from a swim spa. I captured a number of different angles with ~20s of footage for each view.

Any drill recommendations would be helpful.

Quote Reply
Re: Adult onset swim video critique - quest for Kona [chrsc13981] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I'm no expert, but it looks like you are pulling straight down.
Quote Reply
Re: Adult onset swim video critique - quest for Kona [chrsc13981] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
  • Right arm moves outwards at front extension, rather than staying in front of the shoulder and pulling straight from there
  • Right shoulder needs some flexibility work to help front extension
  • Left arm first pulls outward, then in towards waist (s-stroke) rather than pulling in a straight line
  • Left arm reaches downward, rather than at the surface before pull
  • Legs splaying (a symptom of arms not staying in the same plane during the catch/pull)
  • Legs dragging too deeply (need to engage back/glutes/hamstrings to keep legs up)
  • Head a little too low (waterline closer to eyebrows, but need to fix leg drag first)
  • Raising head to breathe, rather than having it follow your shoulder turn (the chin should be "attached" to the shoulder when breathing)
  • Very little early vertical forearm (EVF), results in loss of propulsion