Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

A Heart Rate Question
Quote | Reply
I am new to Triathlons and am looking to compete in the 1/2 Ironman in Kona next may. I have been trainning without a heart rate monitor, until just buying one last week. On my rides that are only about tweenty miles so far I have been averaging tweenty miles an hour, after getting a polar I can see I have been having my heart rate at 185 beats per minute at this speed. I understand I need to be at 135 to 147 beats per minute, and at this range I am only going about twelve miles per hour. I don't mind doing this to build my system until I can work at the same beats per minute by bringing my mile per hour up. My question is do I continue to train here to build as Polar suggests and over the period of six months or so my performance will improve while not working any harder? I would appreciate any input,

Thanks...

"You're guaranteed to miss 100% of the shots you never take" - Wayne Gretzky
Quote Reply
Re: A Heart Rate Question [iseliw] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
This is an extremaly loaded question which I can't answer in a few words.

I think you should get a book and start reading about training with HR. If you don't understand what you're doing the HR-monitor is worthless. You will also need to do a L-Treshhold test in order to set your 'training zones'.

A one dollar answer to your question:
You should do most of your training at low HR but you need to include some faster stuff in order to improve your speed.
Don't go too slow either, what the manuals of those HR monitors sugest is usually on the low end.

What I just said is wrong, but it might give you a hint of where to start;-)
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply