Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

AG Nationals next month - advice needed
Quote | Reply
Hi Folks,

I'm pretty new to both this forum and Triathlon in general so apologies if this has already been answered.

To my surprise, I just managed to qualify for the AG Olympic Nationals in Cleveland next month by winning my age group (50-54) at the WA State championship held at Lake Whatcom, Bellingham.

I'm only in my 3rd year of Triathlon and this will be the first time I have travelled to a race.

I was hoping I could get some newby advice about:

1. The Cleveland course - from people who did the race last year - anything specific I should be aware of?

2. Anything else I should be aware of when traveling to a race for the first time?

I'm really excited to be racing at Nationals and was not expecting to get there this year, so any advice would be most welcome.

Thanks!
Quote Reply
Re: AG Nationals next month - advice needed [kjwcanary] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
On the course:

Swim: It's in Lake Eire. Last year there were 2-3 ft swells which made the course a challenge. The sighting buoys swere few and far between (a challenge for those who have poor distance vision, even with contact lenses). Supposedly, they added more sighting buoys. The course may have been long, also. Oh, and there was a leak at the sewage treatment plant a week before the race.

Bike. It's an out-and-back. The first half is on a closed state highway and is flat-to-rolling. There was a LOT of construction which made the course plain dangerous (narrow roadway, lots of debris, poor road conditions). Supposedly the construction is complete. The back half is flat and on city streets. The police did a good job controlling traffic. The turn around is in a botanical garden (which was pretty if you cared to look).