Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

AFIB Control
Quote | Reply
Wondering if any AFIB athletes reading this have had any success reducing incidents by eliminating caffeine and alcohol. I am at the “pill in pocket” stage now and have been getting mixed answers from my medical team and others. My alcohol consumption is already minimal at a glass or two of wine per week, and quit my one large morning cup of Joe six weeks ago.

So far so good, but I’m curious about long term results from others who have done the same.
Quote Reply
Re: AFIB Control [MrB] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I'm not a medical expert so my comments are probably worth as much as you paid for them. I don't have Afib, but both my parents and my brother have had, or currently have, it. I have several close friends that do as well. The one constant among all of them seems to be that there is no constant. For some, cutting out alcohol and/or caffeine did the trick. For others it made no noticeable change. My father tried all kinds of dietary changes over a period of a couple of years but none seemed to make a difference. He ultimately had an ablation done (twice) before the Afib was gone.

Alcohol and or caffeine seems to be a common trigger among many Afib sufferers so it's definitely worth trying to see if reducing one or both works for you. Good luck and best wishes in solving it!
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply