Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

88mm Front wheel
Quote | Reply
Hi Guys,

I am pretty new to TT bikes, so please excuse my silly question. I've been riding road bikes for a few years and just picked up a used Specialized Transition. I am looking to get a new wheel set, and I was thinking 88mm front/rear. This is my first time using Aero bars and I feel really in control of the bike when I am using the extensions, but I am not sure how brutal the cross winds would be on the front wheel. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
Quote Reply
Re: 88mm Front wheel [NegativeNick] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
It's only the front wheel that causes handling issues. Unless you are quite light, a 90mm wheel should be rideable in most conditions. If I could only have one front wheel though I go with a 60mm up front (so 60/90 combo) to never be caught out.

Like most new equipment, they are a bit tricky at first, but you quickly get used to it.

ECMGN Therapy Silicon Valley:
Depression, Neurocognitive problems, Dementias (Testing and Evaluation), Trauma and PTSD, Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Chiming in as I am also interested.

I don't have a lot of experiance on a tri bike. Mine came with 50's and has been fine, you can tell when it's windy but it hasn't spooked me.

I have just bought a set of 88's so it will be interesting to see a comparison.

My 50's are quite thin and pointy (Bora), the 88,s are quite fat / bulged / angled brake track. I am hoping they will be OK / similar ?

Maybe my extra ballast will help ...

WD :-)
Quote Reply
Re: 88mm Front wheel [WD Pro] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Please let me know what you think of your 88's! Thanks for the replies fellas.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Done correctly the "bulged" rims are a better design for cross winds. I got a pair of Firecrest 404s to replace my old 60mm wheels and they are so much better in a cross wind. Go engineering!
Quote Reply