Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

80/20 HR or Power?
Quote | Reply
Looking at the 80/20 half ironman beginner program.

was thinking to do everything HR based (my TT has a built in power meter but not one on my bike)

BUT as a noob I'm not sure...is it better to train with power?

I did a long zone 2 ride on zwift(using their recommended power zones) whilst checking my HR every 5 minutes and it was pretty spot on... though took a long while for my heart to get up to it...but then with cardiac drift I was near the upper limit after a couple of hours.... I like. the theory behind HR training...I work in a very physical job...real life stress (I e I could get killed) and notice how when over worked. / stressed my heart rate sits higher than when I'm fresh so figure following HR method will take this more into account and help avoid overtraining

Any thoughts on this....

Also it's 32 weeks until my HIM effort... should I start an 18 week training plan now?

any feedback much appreciated.
Quote Reply
Re: 80/20 HR or Power? [skutter] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Have you read the book?
It clearly states the order of precision from lowest to highest: Rate of Perceived Exertion/Pace(swimming)/Heart Rate/Power.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
So if you are doing 80/20 you are doing something like 80% of your workouts easy and 20% hard.

I don't know what your "hard" workouts look like but often they include shorter intervals. HR doesn't work as well here.

So if it was me, if power isn't always available, I would do the easy workouts with HR.
I would use power for the hard workouts on the bike and pace for the hard runs. I don't find HR works as well here especially if you are new to this. After a while you learn how your HR responds to these type of intervals.
Quote Reply
Re: 80/20 HR or Power? [FasterTwitch] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply