Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

700 vs. 650
Quote | Reply
So what do you all think?

I made the switch to 650s two years ago and am very happy with my bike. That being said I have some experienced triathlete friends that swear that 700 is the way to go. They had tried 650 and despite working on their positioning they never got comfortable and switched back for good.

My positioning feels great and I did 2 IMs successfully last year. I made the switch because I climb like crap and thought 650 might help. I do climb better but I also increased my training volume. I do feel that my old 700 cc bike held momentum better. It feels like I start losing speed immediately if I let up on pedalling with my 650 whereas my 700 seemed to carry speed on flats better.

Although I really like the fit of my bike, I have often wondered would I like a 700 c version even better? I've wondered if 700c absorbed vibration or bumps better.

BTW I know height plays a factor. I'm 5'9 and 160lbs.

Any thoughts or experiences?

Richard
Quote Reply
Re: 700 vs. 650 [Richard_M] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
At that height assuming standard proportions (i.e. not a super long torso or inseam) you're right in the middle and could either ride 650s or 700s.

There are theoretical advantages between the two each having their own strengths and weaknesses. I don't know that it really makes all that much of a measurable difference, though. I'm guessing it is minimal.

As for absorbed vibration, I believe theoretically 700s are supposed to be a smoother ride than 650s are. How much smoother again, may not be enough to be measured. I really don't know as I haven't ridden 650s myself. Just read a good amount of information on the two.
Quote Reply
Re: 700 vs. 650 [Richard_M] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply